7 posts / 0 new
Last post
letsgamble
Last seen: 1 hour 32 min ago
Joined: 2/17/19
Posts: 23
Switching to 230v on C36

Hi there!
I will need to transform 110v into 230v on my 2000 C36 mkII. Until now I located these appliances running on 110-120v:
1) Air conditioner TaylorMade Enviromental Marine Air Systems VCP16K + TaylorMade Enviromental blower + Dometic water pump LC-2CP-MD
2) Water heater Seaward S-600
3) Professional Mariner Zinc Saver II 30 Amp Galvanic Isolator (sticker says it works both on 120/240)
4) Battery charger (already bought 230v version)

Did I missed anything?
Are there any appliances which after connecting to the shore switch from the battery to 110?

Thanks!

Siler Starum's picture
Siler Starum
Last seen: 9 hours 24 min ago
Joined: 4/20/18
Posts: 43

presume you swap also all your receiptables for the 230VAC model and what about re-rating your main-fuses, earth-leakage safety protection etc?

--
Durk Nijdam
S/V "SILER"
Catalina 36MKII - 2001 / hullnr. 2013
Stavoren - Holland
letsgamble
Last seen: 1 hour 32 min ago
Joined: 2/17/19
Posts: 23

thanks for reply. it will be done by a professional electrician but I want to gather some more info before service.

ps. by receiptables do you mean 230v outlets? thanks

LeslieTroyer's picture
LeslieTroyer
Last seen: 1 week 21 hours ago
Joined: 3/13/16
Posts: 454
Is this for non-USA power or a bigger service??? If USA you can power the 110 panel and things attached by just connecting one of the phases (hot, neutral and ground). And install a separate panel for the 220 (which will have the 110. Panel as one breaker). If non-USA you would need a new AC panel as all the breakers only cut power to one hot leg of the 220V so your equipment will still be hot. Les
--
Les & Trish Troyer
Mahalo 
Everett, WA
1983 C-36 Hull #0094
C-36 MK 1 Technical Editor. 
letsgamble
Last seen: 1 hour 32 min ago
Joined: 2/17/19
Posts: 23

unfortunately non-USA

how about appliances like fridge etc., are there any which changes from battery to 110-120 when connected to the shore power?

thanks

LeslieTroyer's picture
LeslieTroyer
Last seen: 1 week 21 hours ago
Joined: 3/13/16
Posts: 454
Depends. Most fridges are 12V only. If you have an AC breaker for it then yes. On your dual voltage AC devices - be sure and also chech the frequency range, many devices don’t like 50Hz. Les
--
Les & Trish Troyer
Mahalo 
Everett, WA
1983 C-36 Hull #0094
C-36 MK 1 Technical Editor. 
True Wind
Last seen: 1 week 1 day ago
Joined: 7/15/12
Posts: 81

Wouldn't it be easier and cheaper to install a step down transformer?

--
2003 Catalina 36
Log in or register to post comments